Ford Fiesta ST Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, new to this forum. I picked up my FiST about two months ago and it has 1300 miles on it now. The last couple weeks, I noticed that when shifting to 2nd and 3rd gear, there is a very audible mechanical clunking sound. I do not notice this sound when at high speeds (although the engine noise may be drowning it out) and I do not notice it when shifting into higher gears. When in gear, it drives like a champ! Since I am relatively new to manual transmissions, I wanted to see if this was something normal or if it is something to worry about and should be immediately checked out.

Thank you for any help and please let me know if I have to clarify anything!.

·
Registered
30 Posts
I get a metal clunking noise when pulling away from first and going from first to second. Sounds like it's coming from the drivers footwell (car is RHD). Had it back to the dealer and was told it was a dry bush. They grease it (apparently) which sorted it but it's now coming back. Back to the dealer me thinks!

·
Registered
54 Posts
Mine was only doing a "clunk" noise from first to second, now I get a pronounced grinding metal clack noise on gearshifts till third. It sounds pretty bad. I never noticed it until tonIght cause I had my radio low for once. It's a pretty worrying noise......

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2 Posts
with the windows down, I get a loud "clack" from the engine bay when shifting from 1 to 2...occasionally on 2 to 3...closest way to describe the noise is like a bull-whip...a sharp snap noise...CLACK!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
When exactly are you hearing the noise? During clutch operation or when moving the shifter?