Ford Fiesta ST Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Cobb, I have a few questions about your Access port device. I have never used anything like this before and I thought it would be helpful to ask these questions so those that do not know what it does have a better understanding.
1) I am I correct in the assumption that this device re-mapps the cars computer to gain performance advantages.
2) In the device there are several maps that can be choosed from. (91, 93, Economy) Correct?
3) When you (Cobb) have new maps can they be downloaded into the access port for use?
4) Once you remap (flash) the car with the access port do you have to keep it plugged in?
5) When I buy the device for my Fiesta ST is it specific for that car only? For example can I use it to pull error codes from other cars I own?
6) Is there a way to get the device to display horizontally? It would fit better on my dash sideways. With it vertical it takes up a great deal of space. If it was horizontal it could nicely tuck onto the left side of the dash.
7) I understand with the 91 octane map much of the gain is torque. I have also heard that you allow more boost in 1[SUP]st[/SUP] and 2[SUP]nd[/SUP] gear. Can you explain this a bit. What does this do to the driving experience?
8) Using the 91 map would you expect any risk of detonation? How aggressive is it?

Thank you for the answering these questions, I bet there are a lot of us that wants more info on what this device does.

·
Vendor
418 Posts
No problem!

1. Correct. The Accessport allows you to flash performance maps, economy maps, custom maps, etc. We reverse engineer the factory tuning tables and tuning logic, then use these OEM tuning tables to increase the power.

2 .The Accessport comes pre-installed with several maps for various octane levels. It can hold over 100 maps. We offer free OTS (Off The Shelf) maps on our website, but you can have custom maps map as well using our Protuner network.